Florida Senate President names Senator Broxson Chairman of Florida Defense Support Task Force

Posted on June 28, 2019 by Staff reports

Senate President Bill Galvano (R-Bradenton) today named Senator Doug Broxson (R-Pensacola) as Chair of the Florida Defense Support Task Force. Originally appointed to the Task Force by Senate President Joe Negron, Senator Broxson will begin a one-year term as Chair on July 1, 2019.

“I am pleased to appoint Senator Broxson as the Chair of the Florida Defense Support Task Force. Senator Broxson has always been a passionate advocate for Florida’s military bases and their critical missions, particularly during this challenging time where we are monitoring the restoration and modernization of Tyndall Air Force Base,” said President Galvano. “Tyndall is critical to the economy of many of our Panhandle communities devastated by Hurricane Michael. As Chair of the Florida Defense Support Task Force, Senator Broxson will work diligently to make certain Tyndall is fully restored, modernized, and ready for the new role the base will take on in the coming years.”

The Florida Defense Support Task Force is a legislatively-mandated council (created by Florida Statute 288.987) whose mission is to preserve, protect, and enhance Florida’s military missions and installations. The position of Task Force Chair rotates annually between appointees of the Senate President and the Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives. 

The Florida Defense Support Task Force works with Florida’s Base Commanders to prevent encroachment from impacting mission capabilities for military forces based in Florida. The Task Force is also charged with maintaining and expanding the missions of Florida military installations, improving transportation access, and assisting installations in meeting Department of Defense renewable energy goals. Additionally, the Task Force works to strengthen state support for military families and veterans with a focus on education, health care, employment, and family programs.


For more information, please visit www.FLSenate.gov.