Santa Rosa County Flags at Half Staff for 500,000 COVID-19 Victims

Posted on February 24, 2021 by Staff reports

The U.S. Flag at the U.S. Post Office in Navarre pictured Wednesday at half staff. Photo by Romi White.

Santa Rosa County follows Okaloosa County in lowering flags to half staff in honor of 500,000 American victims of the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to a recent release by The White House, as of this week, more than 500,000 Americans have died from COVID-19. While this is not a milestone to take pride in, it is a milestone of significant impact to our friends, families and loved ones right here in Santa Rosa County. On this occasion, we recognize that we have lost more Americans in a single year, to this pandemic, than in World War I, World War II and the Vietnam War combined. As Santa Rosa county team members, leadership and elected officials reflect on the loss of loved ones, we optimistically plan to defeat this virus as a County, as a State and as a Nation by supporting local vaccination efforts and encouraging our community to take public health-recommended measures to mitigate risk of spread. Also, may we hold fond memories close to our hearts as we mourn the loss of neighbors and loved ones. In recognition of the lives lost and in dedication to our commitment to heal, Santa Rosa County BOCC Buildings will lower their flags to half-staff until sunset February 26, 2021.
Additionally, Governor DeSantis directed the flags of the United States and the State of Florida to be flown at half-staff at the Palm Beach County Courthouse in West Palm Beach, Florida, the City Hall of Palm Beach, Florida, and the State Capitol in Tallahassee, Florida, from sunrise to sunset on Wednesday, February 24, 2021.
Santa Rosa County District 3 Commissioner James Calkins noted, “On Wednesday, February 17, 2021, Rush Limbaugh, Florida resident and America’s anchorman, passed away after battling lung cancer. In 1988, he began “The Rush Limbaugh Show” that soon became one of the most prominent media platforms. Limbaugh was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom on February 4, 2020 by President Donald J. Trump. He holds recognition in both the National Radio Hall of Fame and the National Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame.”