Santa Rosa Education Foundation awards $53K in teacher grants

Posted on November 30, 2018 by Staff reports

Santa Rosa Education Foundation yesterday announced it has awarded 53 Teacher Grants totaling $53,000 to Santa Rosa public educators. 

SREF, in partnership with the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations, the Florida Legislature, and grant sponsors Studer Foundation, Gulf Breeze Optimist Club, and International Paper Foundation, is enabling teachers to implement grants that engage students in active learning while increasing student achievement in the areas of Artistic Literacy, Career/Technical Education, Literacy, and Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Education. 

Following are the award winners by category:

Artistic Literacy Grant Recipients: Molly Keene, Avalon Middle; Lauren Kelly, Dixon Primary; Jennifer Day, Gulf Breeze Elementary; Christian Stump, Gulf Breeze Elementary; Kristy Sirmons, Hobbs Middle; Alicia Coon, Russell Elementary

Career/Technical Education Grant Recipients:  Michelle Thorpe, Milton High; Emily Simon, West Navarre Primary

Literacy Education Grant Recipients:  Kaitlyn Floyd, Avalon Middle; Katherine Koehler, Avalon Middle; Becky Nation, Avalon Middle; Theresa Yankovoy, Avalon Middle; Darla Dunn, Berryhill Elementary; Becky Mulford, Central; Latasha Melton, Dixon Intermediate; Lori Patrick, Hobbs Middle; Brenda Brosnaham, Jay Elementary; Kim Burch, Jay Elementary; Lisa Murphey, Milton High; Jo Lynn Wiley, Milton High; Caryn Bell, Pace High; Michelle Barlow, Pea Ridge Elementary; Jan Rhodes, Pea Ridge Elementary; Heidi Hancock, Rhodes Elementary; Cynthia Larson, Rhodes Elementary; Jami Moore, West Navarre Primary; Shawn Wilcox, West Navarre Primary

STEM Education Grant Recipients: Paula Jones, Avalon Middle; Marci Kennison, Dixon Intermediate; Kelly McKinley, Dixon Primary; Myra Anderson, East Milton Elementary; Kelly Clarke, East Milton Elementary; Debra Johnson, East Milton Elementary; Jennifer Netro, Holley-Navarre Intermediate; Ashley Hall, Holley-Navarre Middle; Brandi Williamson, Jay High; Rebecca Hope, Navarre High; Rob Simon, Navarre High; Joshua Brooks, Pace High; Cynthia Lynch, Pea Ridge Elementary; Michelle Wade, Pea Ridge Elementary; Melissa Albro, Rhodes Elementary; Lindsay Faulk, Rhodes Elementary; Amy Frizzell, Rhodes Elementary; John Taylor, Rhodes Elementary; Pete Mehaffy, West Navarre Intermediate; Angela Anderson, West Navarre Primary; Bridget Granse, West Navarre Primary; Marsha Harp, West Navarre Primary; Susan Julio, West Navarre Primary; Cheryl Turner, West Navarre Primary; Shelley Mann, Woodlawn Beach Middle; Kendra Stevens, Woodlawn Beach Middle

To learn more about Santa Rosa Education Foundation and view a list of Teacher Grant Recipients including the titles of their grant projects, go