Teachers of the Year announced

Posted on October 28, 2019 by Staff reports

Karen Cody, Navarre High Schools’ Teacher of the Year, pictured with Principal Brian Noack

Santa Rosa Education Foundation is pleased to announce the thirty-three nominees for Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year.  Nominees were selected by their peers at schools throughout the district.

  • Rachel Belveal, Avalon Middle;
  • Anna Ledet, Bagdad Elementary;
  • Leann McCombs, Berryhill Elementary;
  • Nikki Golden, Central;
  • Jessica Strickland, Chumuckla Elementary;
  • Wendy Peterson, D.A. Dillon Center;
  • Crissy Longhurst, S.S. Dixon Intermediate;
  • Tonia Wells, S.S. Dixon Primary;
  • Jessica Hounshell, East Milton Elementary;
  • Lindsay Bowman, Gulf Breeze Elementary;
  • Amanda Dixon, Gulf Breeze High;
  • Margaret Bennett Shirley, Gulf Breeze Middle;
  • Maegan Baker, Hobbs Middle;
  • Ginni Rushing, Holley-Navarre Intermediate;
  • Pamela Rose, Holley-Navarre Middle;
  • Jennifer Woll, Holley-Navarre Primary;
  • Tabatha Hawthorne, Jay Elementary;
  • Steven Locklin, Jay High;
  • Lindsay Pharo, King Middle; 
  • Erich Kirchharr, Locklin Technical College;
  • Charity Sanborn, Milton High;
  • Karen Cody, Navarre High;
  • Elizabeth Mann, Oriole Beach Elementary;
  • Lisa Taylor, Pace High;
  • Gillian West, Pea Ridge Elementary;
  • Cindy Simpson, W.H. Rhodes Elementary;
  • Shana Carlson, B.C. Russell Elementary; 
  • Patricia Droogsma, Santa Rosa High/Adult;
  • Luticia Boozer, Santa Rosa Online Academy;
  • Ashley Carter, T.L. Sims Middle;
  • Courtney English, West Navarre Intermediate; 
  • Shanty Peterson, West Navarre Primary;
  • Celia Hernandez, Woodlawn Beach Middle

The Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, January 29, 2020.  Nominees will be recognized at Santa Rosa’s Golden Apple Awards celebrating all Santa Rosa educators on Friday, February 28, 2020, at Skopelos at New World Landing. For sponsorship information visit www.santarosaeducationfoundation.org.