Two incumbents lose re-election to Santa Rosa County Commission

Posted on August 19, 2020 by Romi White

James Calkins, winner of the District 3 Republican primary, unseated Don Salter, who served five terms and was the longest serving commissioner in the board’s history. Calkins will now face off against write-in candidate Patrick Brown on November 3.

Santa Rosa County District 1 Commissioner Sam Parker was the sole incumbent commissioner to hang onto his seat.  Long-time District 3 Commissioner Don Salter and District 5 Commissioner Lane Lynchard were defeated.

In District 1, Parker took nearly half of the votes, beating challengers Geoff Ross and Stacy Bryan.  He will face write-in candidate Chase Gilbert in the November 3 General Election.

Don Salter was unseated after serving five terms as the District 3 Commissioner. Challenger James Calkins won the Republican primary and will face write-in candidate Patrick Brown on November 3.

Colten Wright is the new District 5 Commissioner after winning around 60 percent of the votes and not facing a write-in candidate.